You Love Me Anyway

There are hundreds of reasons why You shouldn’t love me. There are countless of mistakes I made that don’t deserve Your forgiveness.  But, You love me anyway.

How can Your love be so unrelenting and unwavering? How can a love be so pure and persistent? What is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him? (Psalm 8:4)

I am the one who yelled out from the crowd

I turned my back and forsake You but You love me anyway. Everything you said fell on deaf ears; with this sin in my heart I buried Your grace. I was once full of joy and committed in following you but my heart grew cold and became stone, I was overwhelmed by sin, it looked so appealing to me and now I’m broken and destroyed. Sin accomplished its purpose on me to steal, to kill and to destroy every life in me (John 10:10). But You remain as you are. If we are faithless, You remain faithful, for You cannot disown yourself (2 Timothy 2:13). Your unfailing love Lord is as vast as the heavens; your faithfulness reaches beyond the clouds (Psalm 36:5).

I am thorn in your crown

I am humiliation to Your name but You love me anyway. My sins and my shortcomings are disgrace in Your Kingdom. I have done a lot of foolish things in the past; I’m so filthy and impure. My sins and transgressions are always before me but you still called me and invite me into a relationship with You. You said it is not the healthy who needs a doctor, but the sick. You have not come to call the righteous, but sinners (Mark 2:17). There is now no condemnation for those who are in Your presence (Romans 8:1). You washed away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin (Psalm 51:2).

I am the sweat from your brow

I am a disappointment but You love me anyway. How many times have I broken Your heart? How many times I caused you grief? I took the wrong road and I accidentally do it on a purpose. I was overwhelmed of the freewill you entrusted me. I removed my eyes from your will for me which is always good pleasing and perfect. I’m one of the reasons why You regretted that you made mankind when You saw how great the wickedness of the human race had become on the earth, and that every inclination of the thoughts of the human heart was only evil all the time. (Genesis 6:5-6) But how amazing you are, you still want to settle the matter with me. Though my sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool (Isaiah 1:18).

I am the nail in your wrist

I’m the reason for Your suffering but You love me anyway. You’re beaten, humiliated and ridiculed because of me. You accepted every insult, wrong judgment and condemnation they throw at you that was supposed to be for me. I’m a sinner. But You said that even if I’m the only person left, you will still die for me. Who is a God like You, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy. You will again have compassion on us; You will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea (Micah 7:18-20).

I am Judas kiss

I betrayed you but You love me anyway. Though I sat next to You in the table, though I’ve been with you proclaiming the good news, healing sick people and performing miracles. I let pride rule over my soul. I let selfish ambition and vain conceit take over my life. In exchange of thirty pieces of silver I lose everything. My pride and my arrogance became my downfall. I seek honor for myself, in my pride I don’t seek you, and in my thoughts there is no room for God. I overlooked everything You have done for me. I myself saw how You carried me on eagle’s wings and brought me for yourself from the land of slavery to land of freedom, from land of scarcity to the land of plenty, from worshiping idols to worshiping a true and living God. But I know all these things happened so the scripture will be fulfilled (John 19:36). You personally carried our sins in your body on the cross so that we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. By Your wounds we are healed (1 Peter 2:24). There is nothing I can do that will make You love me less.

We all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God but He loves us anyway. True repentance is not based on tears you shed but by the changed life you live moving forward. God is calling you into a relationship with Him.

Disclaimer: This blog post is not the direct interpretation of the song. Its the personal rhema God revealed to me. I just love this song so much and I love sidewalk prophets!

One thought on “You Love Me Anyway

Leave a Reply

