Recovering Your Forgotten Dream

1_1434622200.jpg

If money was not an issue, what would you be doing? Would you be seeking what you’re heart is missing? Would you be doing what you’ve been dreaming? Would you be packing your things to be in the place where you’re supposed to be living?

I remembered the promise I made to myself right after I graduated from University—to pursue my dream no matter what the cost. But slowly as life showed me the reality outside the comfort and security my parents provided me through the years I found myself taking the path not leading to where I dreamt to be. My heart fainted, my knees weakened, and slowly my dreams began to fade. Perhaps there are things that my school and my family haven’t prepared me for or maybe life wont spoon feed me of all its lessons.

You might not be in a similar situation as I am but you can relate to the fact that your dream slid off your priority list. Years have passed and you see some of your friends and batch mates who are just the same as you are who were able to achieve the dreams that you once dreamt with them. You are now forced to admit that you become coward; you gave hundreds of excuses not to do it. Then, during a period of mature soul searching, the forgotten dream began to emerge with the gut feeling that therein lies the missing sense of fulfillment.

The good news is that you can still recover your forgotten dream. But you need to take a brave act:

Stop using money as an excuse

Money doesn’t have to be an obstacle to our hearts desire. It’s not always the antagonist for us to live the life we always wanted; not the obstruction to our path for us to reach our destination. But using money as an excuse is the easiest way to hide what’s hidden within. We justify that money matters most. But if we will take a closer look at our life, regardless if we pursue our dream or not we still lack money. Because the truth is we will never get enough and we will never be satisfied. The world isn’t simply enough for us.

Renew your mind of the idea of Success

If you’re happy then you are successful. The world set our mind that success is only when you have huge amount of money in the bank and you possess a buying power, when you have assets and investments, if you’re popular, and you’re the envy of many. But success in its simplest form is the accomplishment of an aim or purpose. What is your ultimate goal? What is the purpose of your existence? Many successful people are not as happy as you think they are because happiness is doing what you’re created to be.

Be ready to start small

Maybe you have heard several times that life is a marathon not a sprint. Regardless if you’re young or old, we all need to undergo a process. Patiently take the necessary steps to progress and don’t skip any of them. We often assume that great things are done by those who were blessed with natural talent, genius, and skill. But without us knowing it they all started small. Perhaps the best way to be where you want to be is start walking. Don’t be afraid to take baby steps because little progress is better than no progress at all.

Choose a path

Because of our desire to follow all possible paths, we ended up following none. In reality, men are not afraid of difficulties, what frightened us more is being force to choose one particular path. Choosing a path meant having to miss out on others.

Know your purpose: Don’t let envy be your driving force

If envy is your driving force you won’t be able to fulfill your dream. Each person has their own task to do and to perform. You are created for just a specific reason, you have a unique talent and skills that if only properly utilize you can create a big impact. Stop looking at what other’s have, start searching within you your purpose why you want your dream be fulfilled.

Set a goal as to win the prize

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize. (1 Corinthians 9:24-27)

Leave a Reply

