Guarding your heart from Wrong Person

download (3)

My shattered dreams and broken heart
Are mending on the shelf
I saw you holding hands
Standing close to someone else
Now I sit all alone
Wishing all my feeling was gone

I gave my best to you, nothing for me to do
But have one last cry

-One Last Cry, Brian Mc Knight

It’s hard to love someone who doesn’t love you back. It’s painful to invest emotions to someone who doesn’t have the same feelings for you. What’s more heart breaking is when you gave everything to the person you love and yet it’s still not enough and in the end he just played with your heart.

I never had a boyfriend but that doesn’t exempt me from not feeling the pain of heart break. I’m human. I have feelings too. I also appreciate and  get attracted to guys, I also feel butterflies in my stomach, I also feel that magical moment when the whole world stops and stare for a while just like a scene in the movie when you see the man you like. But I resolved to guard my heart.

But why do we really have to protect our hearts? As what King Solomon said, “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it” (Proverbs 4:23). Your heart is extremely valuable. You don’t guard worthless things. You just don’t put your expensive jewelries anywhere; you kept it hidden to a place where it is guarded because it is valuable.

Same goes with your heart. Your heart is the essence of who you are. It is the core of your being. It is the reflection of your life and it is the source of everything you do. It is where all your dreams, your desires, and your passions live. If your heart is broken and wounded, then your life will be miserable. It has an impact on everything else. It is, therefore, imperative that you guard it. Guide to protect yourself from a damaging heart break:

Don’t let others be reckless with your heart.

No one can break your heart unless you allow them to. Don’t just give your heart away to the first man who showed interest to you or to someone whom you feel strongly attracted to. Don’t let someone play and break your heart and in the same way don’t play with other people’s heart.

Value yourself

You’re fearfully and wonderfully made. Never think that you are a lesser person just because the person you love doesn’t love you back. To value yourself goes beyond regarding yourself as important and beautiful; it’s also about appreciating your good qualities and strengths. Invest time, energy, and effort to nurture and develop yourself. Commit to be the best person that you can be.

Don’t assume

Don’t assume that a guy likes you by his actions, gestures or hugot lines. If a man truly likes you he will say it to you without flowery words. Don’t fall into trap, there are men who are just nice and charming while some are really pa-fall (someone who intentionally make you fall for them but they don’t really take it seriously). A good friend of mine advised me that unless a man spoke to your leaders and parents and confessed his feelings for you, then his really serious. If not don’t take everything he say or do for you to your heart.

Follow life’s season

There’s a right time for everything and a season for every activity under heaven. Don’t rush! Right love at the wrong time is still wrong love. As a farmer wait patiently for the spring season, we can’t rush love like a fruit picked green or flower plucked before it blossoms. Our attempt to rush things can ruin its potential. Each season of our lives has a different emphasis, focus and beauty.

Let God write your Love story

If you put your trust in mere men, they will let you down, but if you put your total trust in God, He will never let you down. Several times I found myself praying: “Lord let me help you write my love story!” but God just still my beating heart by saying “Relax my precious child; I know what I’m doing. My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways (Isaiah 55:8). Don’t let impatient robbed you of a wonderful love story God is preparing for you, don’t let premature love to overwhelm your soul. If you let God to write your love story it will be forever and its pure.

2 thoughts on “Guarding your heart from Wrong Person

Leave a Reply

