When I was 22: Looking back at Year 2015

w22.jpg

Twenty two. The age where most young professionals start to establish their career. The time of financial independence and total freedom. It is the time when you will ask yourself what you really want to do with the rest of your life. The time when you desire to discover the big world, explore your limits, know your identity, achieve more and seek for your one true love.

We will only be 22 once, you only have 365 days to make it worthwhile and remarkable. Some of us ‘were’ while some ‘are’ and the others ‘will be’.  Allow me to share these valuables lessons I’ve learned when I was 22.

Embrace Change

The only thing that is constant in this world is change. My transition from being a student into a young professional brought me a wave of nostalgia. After years, I have arrived in the “real world” and it’s not something I expected. Strict nine-to-five workdays plus overtime, tons of task at work, unfamiliar faces, and no more summer vacation and holidays. I didn’t have any clear idea how drastically the professional world would be from college life. I remembered wishing to move the hands of time, back in the day when I was young without a care in the world and free from any responsibilities. But learning to embrace change is accepting that you need to move to the next level of your life, and what you had before will just remain a distant memory and a new beginning is coming. Well, I’m done being a sweet, innocent and quiet girl and a hardworking, studious student, now I’m embracing the new chapter of my life as a young professional.

Take risks

In the investing world, I was told that risk and return are correlated. The higher the risk, the higher the return; the lower the risk, the lower the return. With my desire to turn my hard earned income to passive income and have my money work for me. I tried different investment vehicles like mutual funds, stocks, insurance; I also joined bazaars and even tried network marketing (which didn’t work for me). Entering in the Investing and Business world was a bitter-sweet experience for me. It’s bitter because when you’re young, you lack knowledge, skills and experience, your oblivion of different platforms to have your money working for you and you literally have to start from scratch. It’s sweet because in Investment time is more important than money and that thought alone suffice for you to keep going. Investors who start young generally have the flexibility and time frame to take on risk and recover from their money-losing errors as missteps are common when learning something new. As what people usually say when you’re young don’t be afraid to make mistakes and take risks because you have time to bounce back and redeem yourself. I may have failed so many times, but it also made me wiser and stronger.

Enjoy and have fun

You will only live once, desire to live life to the fullest. Don’t spend your life arguing, complaining and being so bitter about life. Ask yourself what makes you happy and do it. You have the right to be happy; don’t deprive yourself of your chance to enjoy life. Life is not just about suffering, sacrifices, and disappointments. You can’t do great things in life if you’re not having fun! Reward yourself: dine in nice restaurants, enjoy great food, buy beautiful clothes, read good books, travel to the different places, spend time with your amazing friends. After doing all those things my gloomy life became colorful again.

Seek wisdom

How much better to get wisdom than gold, to get insight rather than silver! Of what use is money in the hand of a fool, since he has no desire to get wisdom? Wisdom is very important; it will guide you to make right decision in the future. Seek for the right source of wisdom. In this era of information age, we are bombarded of information that appears true but not. Seek for the truth and the truth will set you free. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. The wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.

Prepare for your future

If you plan to fail, you fail to plan. Every decisions and actions you make today will dictate your future. Learning responsibility today will open doors for your tomorrow. If you want a better future, make the best use of your today. Building your life takes several years but destroying it takes only a day.

 

2 thoughts on “When I was 22: Looking back at Year 2015

Leave a Reply

