Not your typical Bakasyonista in Aklan

The thought of going back to my parents’ hometown AKLAN caused a stir in me for two things: I’m raring to embark on a new adventure and to get some inspiration for my stories and to have a breath of fresh air I’ve been dreaming for so long.

Boracay.jpg

Boracay Island is part of Malay municipality in Aklan province. Photo credit to Phillip Kimpo Jr.

Though been there several times, I only managed to go to Boracay Island and the province capital Kalibo. I was young and penniless back then and I just go along with my parents’ itinerary. But unforntunately staying at home to reconnect with their long lost relatives and childhood friends is their thing. (But what is a vacation after all if you will just stay at home) Our stay is also short-lived, the longest I can remember is just for five days because my parents work demands them to go back.

But everything is different now.

Before our trip, I spent sleepless nights searching for good places to visit in Aklan. I made a promise that this will be one of the best vacations of my life since money is not a problem! I will go to undiscovered places known only by the locals, indulge to a wonderful experience of motorcycle ride as I tour around the province, taste local cuisine and join in the dance parade of the very popular Ati-atihan festival.

I’ll write all my travel stories here.

Leave a Reply

