Flowers and Chocolates

Flowers-and-chocolates

Millions of fresh, fragrant flowers bloom to give smile on a girl’s face this season. Tons of bitter, sweet chocolates that can surely melt a woman’s heart were made to capture her love. To that purpose flowers and chocolates were made.

It’s true indeed that every girl loves flower and chocolates. Well, who doesn’t want a box of chocolate and bouquet of flower that come from a man’s heart? It’s every girl’s fantasy since they were little and woman’s dream come true when they’re old–to receive a thoughtful gift from the man they love or perhaps from someone they like. I will only be fooling myself if I say I don’t. But I’ve been asking myself this question ‘Is it okay to receive fancy gifts from the man who doesn’t stand a chance in your heart?’

That question started to linger in my mind, when one of my guy friends asked me for my address because he wants to send gift for me in Valentines’ Day which I nicely declined.

We’ve been friends for quite some time now. We always talk every night because I teach him business English relevant to his job and promotion. From just a stranger our knowledge towards each other grew deeper and our relationship as friends grew stronger with each passing day. He is totally aware of my standard when it comes to love and relationships. He fully understands the boundary I created to guard my heart and likewise I guard his heart.

Though I know my refusal may disappoint him, I stood on my ground and say no. Though the intention is pure as per him I don’t want to take advantage of his kindness and generous offer. I can’t offer him anything than friendship. People may think differently but I just don’t want to mislead him into something that will never happen in the future. And by the end of our conversation, I persuaded him to give it to the woman who already owns his heart which I believed made him came back to his senses.  I believe that those flowers and chocolates had served its purpose.

P.S

Hey! Just to set your expectation, ‘most’ of my posts will be all about love for the whole month of Feb-ibig. It’s just the middle of February. Lets continue to enjoy the love month! Share the joy, spread the love ❤

10 thoughts on “Flowers and Chocolates

  1. pinoytransplant says:

    Some guys will give a gift just to show their appreciation. Nothing more. However, since it’s Valentine’s, I think the gift during this time of the year may have a different connotation. I think you’re right not to accept his gift. After the Valentine’s season you can claim the gift. 🙂

    By the way, thanks for the follow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

