Compromise

I was once asked by a friend if I will drink a glass of 100% pure distilled water. Without bothering to ask the logic behind her question I quickly answered ‘yes’. Then she rephrased her question and asked me again if I will then drink a glass of 99.9% pure distilled water with .01% poison. Without even thinking I promptly said NO (with surprised and annoyed expression).  I don’t think I got her point and I threw her my deadly glare (If only looks could kill). Even the most stupid person in the world knows the answer, who would dare to drink that water and die instantly. No matter how pure the water, it’s still contaminated.

Then she explained to me the sense behind that silly question. And truth be told that was the best lesson I have learned about compromise. Sometimes it’s okay to make ‘very little’ compromise because we always reason out that God will understand and it’s not too obvious for others to see. We let ourselves be 99% pure and 1% impure. But the truth will remain, you’re still contaminated. I am not suggesting that a Christian will not sin. The Bible clearly says, “If we say we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us” (1 John 1:8). But there is a big difference between the person who sins, is sorry for it, and doesn’t want to keep doing it, and the person who continually, willfully, habitually sins over and over again and then says, “It is okay. God will forgive me.”

Wrong is wrong. Sin is sin. Immoral is immoral. We don’t need to sugarcoat it to look beautiful. This time, I’ll make a stand. I’d rather offend the world than offend God. It’s been quite a while now that we’re offending God, it’s now time let the world get offended.

In court, if you killed someone you can’t reason out that you only killed once and you did thousands of good deeds to be acquitted. Doing good things doesn’t remove the fact that you killed someone. In the same way, compromising the standards of God is also the same as turning your back to Him. You can’t say you follow God’s command, yet compromise with a single sin. That’s the truth in the Bible I know. And the purpose of TRUTH in the Bible is not to offend but to save and love.

P.S

For once I will say this since the issue has already gone viral and this is the last time I will comment on the issue. I support Manny Pacquaio, regardless of what you say I’m entitled to my opinion. Once and for all, I we dont condemned the LGBT community, we condemned the act. What I we hate is the sin and not the sinner. It’s been quite a while now that we’re offending God, it’s now time let the world get offended.

12 thoughts on “Compromise

  1. Advanced Research Technology says:

    Sin is often thought of as doing something wrong or breaking one of the precepts in the decalogue. My favourite description of sin may be separation from God.
    Sin is poison as you’ve pointed out. We don’t really want that in our sphere. The voice of Christ is water (Revelation 1:15). Sin comes down to hearing the voice of Christ or not. Another voice is a little poison, that’s all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • simplygracelyn says:

      Yes. Definitely sin is a poison. I wonder why God still gave man freewill if he knows pretty well from the start that all the inclination in man’s heart is only evil. Perhaps, God still sees the goodness of man because we are created in His image and likeness.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Advanced Research Technology says:

        He gave man freewill so that he could choose God’s power or his own feebleness. Not too many choose God’s power though. Man has developed a whole theology to deny it is even there.

        Liked by 1 person

    • simplygracelyn says:

      Thanks for reading Andi. Some people proudly bragged of their wrongdoings that it appear to be right. Christians should make a stand of what is the truth and let our voice be heard. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms (Ephesians 6:12).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Andi Garcia says:

        Yes…I used to be one of those who bragged about my sins…so sad..but it was done out of fear and stupidity..I’ve only recently accepted the Lord into my life almost a year ago and it was the best thing I ever did..His truth is the only truth..He is the only way and the only life.
        AMEN!!! 😊👍❤☝

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Holistic Wayfarer says:

    I was very (very) impatient with my son yesterday (knowing how toxic negative reactions are both to self and other). I appreciate the God-centered point here but the post is also a great, sobering reminder I take to heart not to serve myself or family toxic emotional cocktails.

    Like

Leave a Reply

