GONG CHA tea.coffee.juice

While working from home has perks, it also has its pitfalls – boredom, loneliness and isolation, just to name a few. Today I planned to go out for a change in atmosphere, to find something amusing that is worth writing and to also flex my creative juices – so I decided to go to the mall and hang out in a nice café.

I was a bit surprised to see the mall so annoyingly crowded – I was like a fool talking to myself if there’s a SALE or a concert performance but it can’t be because its only Thursday. Then it hit me big time when I realized that today is a National holiday in celebration of the 30th Anniversary of EDSA Revolution.

Well, my plan was totally ruined, I walked tirelessly for an hour looking for a place to stay but the cafes and restaurants are full packed. I jumped for joy when my eye caught a tea house — GONG CHA tea.coffee.juice. 

gong.jpg

Gong Cha is a tea house that was first launched in Taiwan in 2006. And there are now more than 170 tea stores popping all over Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Macau, China, Malaysia  and now in the Philippines due to its immense popularity.

Jpeg

The interior of this small tea house is of course Chinese inspired. The walls are painted red which means good luck. It’s very clean, modern, and created a nice comfortable environment to sit, relax and chat with friends in. The store was small and also packed with only four tables that can accommodate customers but with luck fall on my lap a group of friends were just about to leave when I entered, giving me a vacant table empty all for myself (Timing is really everything!)

Jpeg

I was really ecstatic as I approach my throne (I mean my seat). Letting my aching feet rest and enjoy a quiet time far from the maddening crowd. Though I’m not an avid fan of milk tea I still usually go to tea house with my friends (because they really love milk tea) while me on the other hand just order frappe, smoothie or fruit tea. But the endless options of enticing, mouthwatering beverages tempt me, pushing me to try it.

gc2.jpg

gc3.jpg

gc1

But my mind wins over my heart. I just ordered Chocolate Ice Smoothie, 100% sugar for only 105 php since I’m also craving for a sweet, chocolatey taste. I tried the taro drink with with tapioca pearls before and it was good. As you can’t have the best of both worlds this tea house doesn’t actually serve any sandwiches, pastries or bread just pure beverages. Too bad I was really starving that’s why I ended up buying food that will ease my hunger to the food stall next to this tea house which you can eat inside.

1234

I liked the Chocolate Ice Smoothie I ordered, the taste of bitter sweet, creamy chocolate just blend on my mouth and my favorite unsweetened sago just made me too full. Seeing the menu of enticing milk tea and fruit tea tempt me for a second round but its already too much for my stomach too handle after also eating a full meal. I just promised myself to go back with my friends and try the Gong Cha House Specialty in which they have three ways to taste and enjoy it.

  1. Taste our special cream.
    SO YUMMY!
    Open the lid and drink, feeling the tea pass through the foamy layer.
  2. Sip our freshly brewed teas.
    SO FRAGRANT!
    Insert the straw and taste the flavor of the tea.
  3. Mix the two for that
    PERFECT Gong Cha experience!
    Use the straw to stir and savor the splendid texture of the mixture.

Jpeg

Though it was my first time and I went here alone, I still had a good time. The staff here are very nice, courteous and polite, the place though small, is very clean and has cozy and warm ambiance and  the options of delectable milk tea, smoothie, juice and coffee guarantee the best beverages experience. It’s an awesome place I found. If you’re just around the area, you can drop to try their best tasting beverages made from the finest ingredients on their menu.

GONG CHA is located at Ground Level Ayala Fairview Terraces. You can also check out their website gongcha.ph to check their menus and locations.

Photo source: GONG CHA

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “GONG CHA tea.coffee.juice

Leave a Reply

