The Power of the Cross

FB_IMG_1461869116368

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.” –Galatians 3:17

Growing up in a Christian nation where churches are just few blocks away, and going to church is just a dull moral concern, its no doubt why you will grow up so over familiar of the cross. It has become a neglected overrated religious symbol you can find everywhere. It was devoid of its power and lacking in significance. How easy it is to take God for granted given that situation? I was completely drowned of the deceptive wiles not until Jesus came into the picture and showed me its power. The Power of the Cross:

1. Cross gives new life
The revelation of cross gives me new life. My life has never been the same again when I had a personal encounter of the man hanging on the cross. All my life, I grew up being so familiar of that religious symbol. But I never realized its power to break chains of sin and its power to give me new life. I experienced 180° turn around and I became a new creation. I realized I go to church and turned it to my dwelling place instead of His dwelling place thats why changed life never happened to me.

2. Cross demonstrates perfect love
No person in this world will lay down their life for a kind and righteous person no matter how they love them. What more for a selfish, rotten person who would dare to die? The cross demonstrates God’s unreleting love. He didnt die just for the righteous and those who do good. He died for all of us. I found myself on my knees when I experienced that kind of love. He took the fall that was meant for me. He was beaten, ridiculed, humiliated because of me. I was forgiven, He was forsaken. I was accepted, He was condemned. I was humbled that that kind of love exists.

3. Cross sets captives free
I was captived of my selfish desire, sinful nature and arrogance. I was on my way to ruin but God whose love is so unrelenting showed me another way to live. We are made righteous by faith in Jesus Christ. And I now belonged to God and was no longer under the enslavement of the enemy.

4. Cross opens floodgates of blessings
The God who lavishly gives you His own son, his Holy Spirit will also give you abundant blessings. Those who live by faith will certainly received the favor of God. We cannot expect God to do something if we treat the cross as nothing and at the same time.

5. Cross connects you to God
Jesus said, I am the way, the truth and the life no one can come to the Father except through me. He grants us direct access to the father through the cross. We were separated from God because of sin but God’s gift of eternal life is through Christ Jesus, our Lord.

This post is part of of my 90 Days Challenge devotion to soak myself in the word and presence of God. This is just Day 4! Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “The Power of the Cross

  1. Advanced Research Technology says:

    The cross is the shape of the path that one follows into the sanctuary, which is a symbol of the steps all mankind walks with Christ into glory. The cross is also the shape of the encampment of the armies of Israel around the sanctuary, which represents all those who are filled with the Spirit of The Most High.
    In the sanctuary service, the blood of the lamb is carried along the length of the sanctuary cross representing Christ’s death in our behalf. It is saying to us that the Spirit that Christ gave up lives in us if we can grasp the symbolism.
    The cross is simply the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

